Swaziprincess’s Weblog


writing with reason
April 6, 2008, 10:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

My hair was impeccably curly today and I quite enjoyed it. It’s usually all frizzy or in a braid so I don’t do much with it. Today I got to wear it down [not that we went anywhere], but still, it was nice.

I also was working on my photo project and our current assignment is an emulation one. We had to pick four ‘famous’ photographers and attempt to recreate their work. At the moment I’m working on my photos by Annie Leibowitz. Here’s the one I tried to do today with my curly hair :].

Annie just did this really cool portfolio of all Disney stories. She used famous people and celebrities and dressed them as Disney characters. Quite amazing photographs. You can see some here: Disney’s Blog

On another note, I read William Faulkner’s Nobel Prize speech today. [It was homework…] It is possibly one of the most moving things I have read in a long time and quite possibly what will help push me towards becoming a skilled writer. It can be found here: Faulkner’s Speech.

My favorite part is when he says:

I believe that man will not merely endure: he will prevail. He is immortal, not because he alone among creatures has an inexhaustible voice, but because he has a soul, a spirit capable of compassion and sacrifice and endurance. The poet’s, the writer’s, duty is to write about these things. It is his privilege to help man endure by lifting his heart, by reminding him of the courage and honor and hope and pride and compassion and pity and sacrifice which have been the glory of his past. The poet’s voice need not merely be the record of man, it can be one of the props, the pillars to help him endure and prevail.

That is what writing is all about. That is the reason we write. For all that plus more. Anyway. The Sound and the Fury was a very good book that we read in English Lang AP, and although it is very challenging, I highly recommend it. One of those life lesson/life altering ones that is very deep. It’s the book the speech was written about.

My fingernails are hot pink. I never paint my nails but in the last week they have been turquoise and now they are pink. Things sure are changing.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

